Art as Spiritual Practice: The Mandala

Espirational: A 10 Minute Vacation for the Soul

I believe that just as all of life is created from and infused with Spirit, so is art.  In my art I draw no lines between “spiritual” and “non spiritual” works.  Some pieces may have more obvious religious or spiritual themes or symbolism than others, but all are created with the Creator of the Universe.

That said I do love to play with sacred geometry, especially circles.  I have worked with the form of the Rose Window for Rose of Sharon.

Rose of Sharon Copyright 2010 Rose of Sharon
Copyright 2010

I have also explored the labyrinth (the Walker Series),

Firewalker Copyright 2015 by R.A. Robbins Firewalker
Copyright 2015 by R.A. Robbins

But until recently I have not attempted a mandala.  Finally one day last summer I cleared my schedule for an “art day” and devoted my time and energy to making one.

I began the day with meditation on the courtesy dock which actually extends over the water.  What a wonderful way…

View original post 218 more words

Leave a Reply

