Soundtracks Of My Tears

notquiteold

In focusing on the small joys of life, there is no doubt about the delight I get in hearing a sparkling, happy song. All I need is to hear “I’m A Believer” or “Walking On Sunshine” or The Rascal’s “Good Lovin'” and my butt starts bouncing and I’m set for the day.

However – there is also something wonderfully comforting about a heart-wrenching sad song.

I love a song that can bring tears to my eyes.

When I was a little kid, I had no understanding of romantic love and heartbreak, but there were still sad emotions that I could identify with.

I think the first song that really moved me was Brenda Lee’s “I’m Sorry” in 1960. I was nine. Although I didn’t identify with lovers’ quarrels, I certainly could understand how it feels to do something wrong. To know something is your fault and to feel terrible. And…

View original post 638 more words

Leave a Reply

