I Never Imagined

notquiteold

Recently I overheard two women discussing how their lives turned out so differently from what they had imagined.

It got me to thinking about how that might be true for me too.

Only when I really thought about it, I could not claim my life was different from what I had pictured, because I realized that I had never really pictured it.

Oh, I had some vague daydreams about a job and a house and a family, but when I say “vague” – I mean this faint, shadowy idea that someday I might be an adult, and adult people did things like that.

Because, to tell you the truth, I couldn’t really see it.

I never really thought about my future. When I was a kid, I didn’t fantasize about being a grown up. I didn’t especially see an advantage to being an adult – except for the freedom to…

View original post 994 more words

Leave a Reply

