Is Spelt Gluten Free?

Espirational: A 10 Minute Vacation for the Soul

I have recently been seeing more and more “gluten free” recipes calling for spelt  flour.  With the holidays approaching when people will be doing more baking I decided to tackle this issue.

The short answer to the question “Is spelt gluten free?” is no.  The FDA in Questions and Answers on the Gluten-Free Labeling Proposed Rule explains the use of the word gluten in relation to Celiac Disease in this way:

“In the context of celiac disease, the term “gluten” is used to collectively refer to gluten in wheat, and to the proteins in other grains that have been demonstrated to cause harmful health effects in individuals who have celiac disease. These grains are wheat (including different varieties such as spelt and kamut), rye, barley, cross-bred hybrids (e.g., triticale, which is a cross between wheat and rye), and possibly oats.” 

The FDA has declared that spelt must be labeled on products as wheat since…

View original post 265 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s