Happy July 4 – Where I Diss Betsy Ross

notquiteold

A week or so ago, I wrote a piece about unsolved mysteries that haunt me.

At the time, I was referring to assassination questions that need to be answered. But I also mentioned that in a future post, I would discuss a few minor trivial mysteries that occasionally bug me.

Here’s one.

When I was about nine years old, my school adopted this self-learning program for Reading. The curriculum included these little booklets, each with stories at various reading levels, and the students individually moved through the booklets, answered content and vocabulary questions, and advanced to the next level. I don’t think it was a bad method, as each kid could progress at his own pace. Most of the stories, though, were incredibly boring.

But one story interested me. It was a story about Betsy Ross. George Washington asked her to make the first American flag. I do not know…

View original post 416 more words

Leave a Reply

